Dates: 1819-1850

Collection Number:  MS 31

Physical Location: Archive Room File Cabinet

Extent: 1 item.

Access Restrictions: Collection open to research.

User Restrictions: No restrictions.

Preferred Citation: Membership List of the Sand Run Baptist Church, Francisville, Boone County, Kentucky, 20 March 1819 - July 1850, MS 31, Albemarle Charlottesville Historical Society, Charlottesville, Va.

Acquisition Information: Gift, Ms. Jane Eaglesfield Darlington, G.R.S., 5950 Stafford Rd., Indianapolis, Indiana  46208, 27 September 1977.

Biographical/Historical Information: The North Bend Baptist Association of Kentucky was formed at Dry Creek Meeting House, in what is now Kenton County, on Friday 29 July 1803. The following churches with 429 members were in the constitution: Bullittsburg (organized June 1794), Mouth of Licking (now Licking - Oct. 1794), Forks of Licking (now Falmouth - June 1795), Flower Creek, Bank Lick (May 1801), Dry Creek (May 1800), Middle Creek (March 1803), Twelve Mile, and Brush Creek (now Persimmon Grove). In 1811 and 1817 these churches enjoyed revivals bringing the total membership to 1,453 in 16 churches.

Scope and Content: This is a photocopy of the Sand Run Baptist Church membership list transcribed by Jane Eaglesfield Darlington in March 1977. She transcribed the list from microfilm Publication No. 952 located in the Dargan-Carver Library, Historical Commission of the Southern Baptist Convention, Nashville, Tennessee. The membership list was extracted from Book A beginning at page 149 of the microfilm, dated 1819-1937.


  • 1. Baptist church.
  • 2. Church records and registers.
  • 3. Kentucky.

Notes: Sand Run Church was constitued 20 March 1819 at the house of William N. McCoy by 77 members of Bullittsburg Church. A meeting house lot was purchased 5 January 1820 and the members were assessed $2100. The lot was resurveyed in November 1849 because the four original corner stones could not be located. The burying ground was laid out in June 1824.