Dates: 1854-2012

Collection Number: MS 151

Extent: 1 folder; 65 items

Preferred Citation: Mayors of Charlottesville, Virginia, MS 151, Albemarle Charlottesville Historical Society, Charlottesville, Virginia. 

Biographical/Historical Information: The Charlottesville, Virginia mayor is the president of the City Council. Before the town was chartered in 1888, voters directly chose a mayor. After city incorporation in 1888, Charlottesville voters continued to elect mayors. Since 1922 voters have chosen a number of individuals to serve on the City Council. The elected councilors chose one of their own members to serve as leader of the council with the title of "mayor," though the person has no legal or executive authority. The mayor presides over City Council meetings and serves as the ceremonial head of the city government.

Scope and Content: This is a compilation of biographical information and photographs of Charlottesville, Virginia mayors, 1883-1980. It includes an updated list of mayors, 1875-2012.


[Photo of Elbridge G. Haden, Mayor of Charlottesville, 1908-1912, 1916-1920, in the Albemarle Charlottesville Historical Society Photograph Collection, PC400]